First appointment with surgeon

YankeeRose
on 11/22/10 1:02 pm - Meadville, PA
Hello! I have my first appointment with my bariatric surgeon tomorrow. Any suggestions on questions that I should ask him? Just want to make sure I cover all the bases and that he is the right surgeon for me. Any input you can give me will be much appreciated. Thanks!

Tammy
Luck 'o the Irish
HW399/SW362/CW219/GW130
*37 lbs were lost pre-op

IdaMae D.
on 11/22/10 7:52 pm - Philadelphia, PA
Good Morning:

I work in the insurance industry so I had a lot of good feedback from the companies medical directors who I have a friendly relationship with that were able to coach me on questions to ask.  Have a great visit today.  Here is the list:

• How many years have you been a bariatric surgeon?
  • Are you a board-certified bariatric surgeon?
  • Are you a member of ASBS (American Society of Bariatric Surgery)?
  • How many and what type of weight loss surgeries do you perform each year? (this shows overall skill level)
  • Based on my personal health and weight, what surgery do you recommend for me?
  • What are the advantages of this procedure?
  • What are the disadvantages of this procedure?
  • What are the risks of weight loss surgery?
  • What are the risks of this procedure?
  • How many of my type of surgery (lap-band, gastric bypass, etc.) have you performed? (An experienced surgeon should have done at least 250 of your procedure)
  • Do you perform the surgery laparoscopically or open? (If possible, laparoscopic surgery has a quicker recovery)
  • Will you perform the procedure, or an assistant?
  • Will you be in the operation room during the entire procedure?
  • Where will the surgery be performed?
  • Is the hospital or clinic a Center of Excellence?
  • How many people on the entire medical team?
  • Is everyone of the medical team licensed?
  • What pre-op testing will be done?
  • What post-op testing will be done?
  • Why don't you recommend the other procedures for me?